City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: OC-19-40   
Type: Other Communication Status: Confirmed
File created: 9/18/2019 In control: City Council
Final action: 10/7/2019
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Appointment of Ms. Barbara Taylor to the Open Space Advisory Board
Attachments: 1. OC-40.pdf


TO: All Councilors
FROM: Klarissa J. Pe?a, President
SUBJECT: title
Appointment of Ms. Barbara Taylor to the Open Space Advisory Board
DATE: September 18, 2019

Per Ordinance ? 14-13-3-7, when a term expires or a vacancy occurs on the Open Space Advisory Board (OSAB), the Council and the Mayor make alternate appointments to the Board. If either the Mayor or City Council fails to name a replacement board member within 45 days of the vacancy, then the other body shall make the appointment.

The term of OSAB member Chris Green expired on September 1, 2019 and another appointment is required by the City Council.

Members shall be knowledgeable in open space, ecology, the real estate market, urban and regional planning and/or related law.

I am recommending Ms. Barbara Taylor to the City Council for confirmation of appointment to the OSAB. Ms. Taylor holds a BA in History from the University of NM, with a minor in Political Science. Between 2004 and 2018, Ms. Taylor was a City employee and held various positions including CIP Project Coordinator, CIP Program Manager, CIP Official, and Director of the Parks and Recreation Department. During her tenure, she was instrumental in the completion of the fully accessible pedestrian and bike path along the Bosque, a comprehensive study of the Golf Management Division, and the first fully accessible playground at Daniel Webster Memorial Park. Ms. Taylor also helped to develop the Bosque Summer Youth program for high school students, as well as assisting the OSAB in restructuring its responsibilities and processes. In 2017, Ms. Taylor was awarded the American Society of Landscape Architects Distinguished Community Leadership Award.

With this appointment, the membership of the committee is as follows:

Representing Name Term
1. At Large Ms. Leslie Rene Horvath 09/01/2020
2. At Large Mr. Alan Reed 09/01/2021
3. At Large Mr. Michael Scisc...

Click here for full text