City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: EC-23-391   
Type: Executive Communication Status: Failed
File created: 11/20/2023 In control: City Council
Final action: 2/21/2024
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Mayor's appointment of Dr. Michael Wartell to the Personnel Board
Attachments: 1. EC-391


TO: Pat Davis, President, City Council

FROM: Timothy M. Keller, Mayor

SUBJECT: title
Mayor's appointment of Dr. Michael Wartell to the Personnel Board

I am submitting for your advice and consent the following name for appointment to the Personnel Board in accordance with the City of Albuquerque Ordinance 3-1-4.


Dr. Michael Wartell September 1, 2025
Albuquerque, NM 87120
Dr. Wartell was elected by the permanent City of Albuquerque employees through an electronic election held September 18, 2023, through September 22, 2023 to serve as a representative of Labor on the Personnel Board.
Dr. Wartell, an academician and scientist, was appointed chancellor at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) in July 1994. During the previous year, he was vice chancellor for academic affairs and professor of chemistry at IPFW. He became Chancellor Emeritus in 2012.
As chancellor, Michael Wartell was responsible for Indiana's fifth-largest university (14000 students) and the only comprehensive public university in northeastern Indiana where he led the campus in increasing enrollment, constructing more than thirty new buildings, and expanding programs, the endowment, and endowed professorships. IPFW offers more than 200 Indiana University and Purdue University associate, bachelor's, and master's degrees in the humanities, sciences, engineering, technologies, education, fine and performing arts, business and management, health sciences, and public and environmental affairs.

A resident of Council District 6, Dr. Wartell will replace Dr. T. Zane Reeves and serve as the Labor representative on the board. His first term will expire on September 1, 2025.

Current Membership

Representing Name Term

1. Elected by Board
Mr. John Castillo

Click here for full text