City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: OC-23-30   
Type: Other Communication Status: Confirmed
File created: 3/6/2023 In control: City Council
Final action: 3/20/2023
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Re-appointment of Dr. Colin Barnett to the Biological Park Board
Attachments: 1. OC-30



TO: All City Councilors

FROM: Trudy Jones, City Councilor, District 8

SUBJECT: title
Re-appointment of Dr. Colin Barnett to the Biological Park Board

DATE: March 1, 2023

I am submitting the following name for re-appointment to the Albuquerque Biological Park Board.

Dr. Colin Barnett March 1st, 2026

Dr. Barnett has a PH.D. in Zoology from UC Berkeley and worked at the Illinois State University teaching ecology and ethology. He was awarded a fellowship to conduct research in Germany and a second Fellowship to conduct research and the Southwest Fisheries Center. Later in his career, Dr. Barnett managed engineering staff in the development of robotic vehicles. Mr. Barnett will serve as the District 8 representative on the board and his second term will expire March 1, 2026.
The Albuquerque Biological Park Advisory Board was established for the following purposes:
A. To support the development and operation of the Albuquerque Biological Park (ABQ BioPark), which includes four primary facilities, being, Tingley Beach, the ABQ BioPark Aquarium, the ABQ BioPark Botanic Garden, and the ABQ BioPark Zoo.
B. To serve as a focal point for community input and discussion regarding the needs and development of the ABQ BioPark.
C. To encourage usage and maintain ongoing community support activities of the facility.

Biological Park Board Membership

Seat Term Ends Current Member Council District
At Large 3/1/2024 Dr. Karl Horak |910|At Large 3/1/2025 Dr. Kristina M.Chongsirirwatana Non-City Resident
At Large 3/1/2024 Ms. Laura L. Harris |910|BioPark Society 1/1/0001 Dr. Bruce W. Hinrichs |910|Council District 1 3/1/2024 Mr. Jon Sanchez |910|Council District 2 3/1/2022 Mr. Adam Silverman |910|Council District 3 3/1/2024 Mrs. Jeanette E. Baca |910|Council District 4 3/1/2025 Ms. R...

Click here for full text