City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: OC-22-1   
Type: Other Communication Status: Adopted
File created: 2/7/2022 In control: City Council
Final action: 2/23/2022
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Appointments to the 2022 Redistricting Committee
Attachments: 1. OC-1, 2. OC-1final.pdf









TO:                      All Councilors                     


FROM:                     Klarissa Peña, Council District 3

                     Brook Bassan, Council District 4                     




Appointments to the 2022 Redistricting Committee


DATE:                     February 7, 2022


CC:                     Chris Melendrez, Council Services Director



On January 19th, 2022, the City Council passed R-21-226 which created the Charter required Redistricting Committee. That Committee’s purpose is to make recommendations to the City Council regarding the redistricting of council districts based on the 2020 census data.


The City Charter requires the Redistricting Committee be composed of an equal number of members from each Council district, must “as nearly as practicable” provide fair and balanced representation of the entire City, and its membership must “reflect the racial, ethnic and gender makeup of the City’s population”. The names listed below are those proposed by each Council member. With the approval of this OC, the following individuals will be appointed to the City’s 2022 Redistricting Committee:


Council District




Victor Segura

Dan Aragon


Keith Romero

Joaquin Baca


Cherise Quezada

Luis Hernandez Jr


Mark Reynolds

Rebecca Latham


Steve Smothermon

Robert Aragon


Cathryn McGill

Rosendo Najar


Travis Kellerman

Heather Berghmans


David Buchholtz

Kevin Powers


Kenneth Pascoe

Thomas R Stull





Demographic Information for the Committee:


Committee Member



D1 Victor Segura



D1 Dan Aragon



D2 Keith Romero



D2 Joaquin Baca



D3 Cherise Quezada



D3 Luis Hernandez



D4 Mark Reynolds


NH White

D4 Rebecca Latham


NH White

D5 Steve Smothermon


NH White

D5 Robert Aragon



D6 Cathryn McGill


NH African American

D6 Rosendo Najar



D7 Travis Kellerman


NH White

D7 Heather Berghmans


NH White

D8 David Buckholtz


NH White

D8 Kevin Powers


NH White

D9 Kenneth Pascoe


NH White

D9 Thomas Stull


NH White


Biography for each committee member:

                     Victor Segura: Mr. Segura is the owner and CEO of CPR2UNM, LLC. Mr. Segura has over 20 years experience in safety and industrial engineering, human resources, equal opportunity and operations / team management in government, military, and private sector environments. Mr. Segura also has over 30 years of experience with the United States Navy, the Air National Guard, and the Air Force Reserves. Mr. Segura formed the Watershed Neighborhood Association and is active the Westside Coalition of Neighborhood Associations.

                     Dan Aragon: Mr. Aragon works for PNM in the real estate department specializing in land acquisition and property rights. Mr. Aragon has a background in land use, land acquisition, and land planning as an appraiser, planner, and zoning officer since the 1990s. Mr. Aragon worked for local government for over 15 years and served as the Bernalillo County Treasurer. 

                     Keith Romero: Mr. Romero is local attorney and lifelong resident of Albuquerque and an active community member in District 2. Mr. Romero has practiced law for 27 years and is the owner of Law Offices of Keith R. Romero, P.C.

                     Joaquin Baca: Mr. Baca serves on the Board of Directors for the Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District and represents Bernalillo County. Mr. Baca has served on a number of different boards and commissions and is an active community member in District 2. Mr. Baca currently works for the US Forrest Service and has advanced degrees in law and environmental education.

                     Cherise Quezada: Ms. Quezada has spent the last 10 years in community and civic involvement. Ms. Quezada is currently the assistant to NM State Representative Georgene Louis, and has worked for the City of Albuquerque, Presbyterian, YDI, and New Mexico Municipal League.

                     Luis Hernandez: Mr. Hernandez is a non-profit community leader, and is currently the Executive Director of the West Central Community Development Group. Mr. Hernandez has many years of experience in sales and marketing, customer service, and management.

                     Mark Reynolds: Mr. Reynolds has worked for the University of New Mexico for 39 years and is the Associate Director of IT for UNM. Mr. Reynolds is also the current President of the District 4 Coalition.

                     Rebecca Latham: Ms. Latham is the CEO of Girl Scout of New Mexico Trails and is an organizational leader. Prior to this Ms. Latham was CEO of American Mothers Inc. and Cabinet Secretary and CEO to the New Mexico Tourism Department.

                     Steve Smothermon: Mr. Smothermon is the senior pastor of Legacy Church with locations in Albuquerque, the East Mountains, Rio Rancho, Clovis and Portales, New Mexico.  He earned a bachelor of theological studies degree from Vision International University and is the author of “Large Large Living in a Small Small World”. Mr. Smothermon previously served two terms on the Police Oversight Commission for the City of Albuquerque.

                     Robert Aragon: Mr. Aragon is a lawyer with 33 years of experience. Mr. Aragon graduated from the University of New Mexico School of Law, beginning his legal career in 1987, and is a member of the New Mexico State Bar. Mr. Aragon is the founder of Aragon Law Firm PC and was previously a member of the New Mexico Legislature for a number of years.

                     Cathryn McGill: Ms. McGill is a non-profit and public administrator, producer, and singer/songwriter and actress. Ms. McGill is currently the founder and CEO of the New Mexico Black Leadership Council.

                     Rosendo Najar: Mr. Najar is has been a member of Carpenters Local 1319 for 15 years and currently serves as the Local 1319 president and the lead business agent for the State of New Mexico. Mr. Najar has been a journeyman carpenter for 13 years.

                     Travis Kellerman: Mr. Kellerman is a graduate of the University of New Mexico, a founder of Lavu, and is a strategist and futurist. Mr. Kellerman is currently the lead strategist and co-founder of Quotient Labs.

                     Heather Berghmans: Ms. Berghmans has a Bachelors in Political Science, and a Masters in Public Administration from the University of New Mexico. Ms. Berghmans has a background in public administration and policy as well as experience as a project manager in the private sector. Ms. Berghmans is currently the Finance Director for Advanced Legislative Leadership Services LLC.

                     David Buckholtz: Mr. Buckholtz is a lawyer recognized for his expertise in government and finance law. He has previously served as bond and finance counsel for the City of Albuquerque. Mr. Buckholtz has been with Rodey, Dickason, Sloan, Akin & Robb, P.A. for a number of years.

                     Kevin Powers: Mr. Powers is retired but has over 30 years of experience working with city, county, and state governments in New Mexico in public finance practice.

                     Kenneth Pascoe: Mr. Pascoe is a retired Lieutenant Colonel with the US Air Force, and is currently a test engineer at Sandia National Laboratories.

                     Thomas Stull: Mr. Stull is a retired corporate vice president and retired Colonel from the US Air Force, with over 30 years of military experience. Mr. Stull currently volunteers his time and services to his church.