City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: OC-21-45   
Type: Other Communication Status: In Council - Consent Agenda
File created: 10/4/2021 In control: City Council
Final action: 10/4/2021
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Staff Recommendation to Appoint Mr. Jesse Crawford to the Civilian Police Oversight Agency Board
Attachments: 1. OC-45.pdf



TO: All Councilors

FROM: Chris Sylvan, Neighborhood Liaison Office of Neighborhood Coordination

Staff Recommendation to Appoint Mr. Jesse Crawford to the Civilian Police Oversight Agency Board

DATE: September 30, 2021

Pursuant to the provisions of ?9-4-1-5 of the Police Oversight Ordinance, City Council staff recommends the appointment of Mr. Jesse Crawford to the Civilian Police Oversight Agency Board.

Jesse Crawford February 2, 2023
1003 10th St SW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102

If appointed, Mr. Crawford will fill a vacancy left after Mr. Douglas Mitchell passed away last month. Mr. Crawford will be serving a partial term that will expire on February 2, 2023, and will be eligible for re-appointment for another three-year term.
Originally from Portland, Oregon, Mr. Crawford moved to New Mexico to attend New Mexico Tech. For the last six years, he has lived in Albuquerque and worked in the technology industry with a background including an MS in Information Security. He is interested in law enforcement and public safety and how they interact with social justice and believes strongly in the value of civilian oversight of law enforcement. Mr. Crawford believes that the Board can contribute positive change in the community by providing transparent, equitable oversight of APD and demonstrating a process of accountability. Mr. Crawford has an extensive history of involvement in community organizing and volunteerism. He has volunteered with organizations working with the underhoused, poverty eradication groups, and LGBTQIA advocacy organizations.
Current Board Membership:
Name Term
Chantal Galloway 02/02/2022
Tara Armijo-Prewitt 02/02/2022
Patricia French 02/02/2022
Dr. William J. Kass 02/02/2023
Vacant 02/02/2023
Gionne Ralph 02/02/2023
Eric Olivas 02/02/2024
Eric Nixon 02/02/2024
Richard Johnson ...

Click here for full text