City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: OC-20-9   
Type: Other Communication Status: In Council - Consent Agenda
File created: 9/9/2020 In control: City Council
Final action:
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Reappointment of Ms. Twyla McComb to the Open Space Advisory Board
Attachments: 1. OC-9



TO: City Councilors

FROM: Klarissa J. Pe?a, Councilor, District 3

Reappointment of Ms. Twyla McComb to the Open Space Advisory Board

DATE: September 9th, 2020

Pursuant to the provision of Section 14-2-6-16 ROA 1994, I hereby recommend the reappointment of Ms. Twyla McComb to the Open Space Advisory Board.

Ms. Twyla McComb is an Albuquerque native with an extensive background in practical finance. She has been a part of real-estate transactions in the Albuquerque area for more than 17 years. Her grandfather and father instilled in her a passion for the unique and beautiful outdoor areas of New Mexico and she wants to see the preservation of our unique way of life. She would like to give back to the community and assist in making recommendations to better our community. She resides in Council District 3 and will be re-filling her at-large position that is expired on September 1, 2020. If appointed, her second and final term will expire on September 1st, 2023.

The governing legislation that guides the appointment of members to OSAB indicate the following required qualifications: Members shall be residents of the city with a demonstrated commitment to the accomplishment of the Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Comprehensive Plan. Members shall be knowledgeable as to open space, ecology, the real estate market, urban and regional planning and/or related law.

Major concerns of the board include investment policy for the Open Space Trust Fund, Acquisition of selected Additional open space lands, maintenance of the existing system, plans for improvements such as trails, revegetation, or visitor access, and coordination with the Bernalillo County open space system.

The remaining make-up of the board is as follows:

Term Expiration
Don Meaders
September 1, 2021
Michael Scisco
September 1, 2022
Barbara Taylor
September 1, 2022

Click here for full text