City of Albuquerque
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: OC-20-8   
Type: Other Communication Status: In Council - Consent Agenda
File created: 8/3/2020 In control: City Council
Final action:
Enactment date: Enactment #:
Title: Appointment of Mr. Joshua S. Martinez to the Board of Ethics & Campaign Practices
Attachments: 1. OC-8









TO:                     All Councilors


FROM:                     Stephanie M. Yara, Director of Council Services


SUBJECT:                     title

Appointment of Mr. Joshua S. Martinez to the Board of Ethics & Campaign Practices



DATE:                     July 28, 2020


CC:                     Ethan Watson, City Clerk



Per the City Charter, the City Council is required to appoint three members to the City’s Board of Ethics and Campaign Practices. One of the Council appointed positions on the Board was vacated by Mr. Eric Garcia on July 31, 2019 upon expiration of his term, and an appointment is required to fill the vacancy.


Mr. Martinez is eligible and willing to serve on the Board.  If appointed, Mr. Martinez’s first term on the Board will end on 7/31/2023.


Mr. Martinez’s resume has been published on the City Clerk’s website as required by the City Charter and is attached for your review.


The remaining members of the Board are:

Representing                                                                                    Name                                                                                                         Term                                          

1.                     Board Elected President                     Mr. Andrew G. Schultz                                          07/31/2019

2.                     Mayoral Appointee                                          vacant                                                                                                         -

3.                     Mayoral Appointee                                          Mr. Gary J. Van Luchene                                          07/31/2020

4.                     Mayoral Appointee                                          Mr. John Kwait                                                               07/31/2020

5.                     City Council Appointee                                          Mr. Rex D. Throckmorton                                          07/31/2020

6.                     City Council Appointee                                          Mr. Joshua S. Martinez                                          07/31/2023

7.                     City Council Appointee                                          Mr. James Breen                                                               07/31/2023