

City of Albuquerque

City of Albuquerque Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Legislation Text

File #: OC-21-34, Version: 1

CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE

INTEROFFICE MEMORANDUM

TO: All City Councilors

FROM: Lan Sena, City Councilor, District 1

SUBJECT: ..title

Re-Appointment of Helen Juliet Atkins to the Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees

DATE: June 4, 2021

I am submitting the following name for re-appointment to the Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees in accordance with the City of Albuquerque Ordinance 10-4-1-4.

APPOINTEE NAME

TERM

Ms, Helen Juliet Atkins 7215 Arenoso Pl. NW Albuquerque, NM 87120 July 31, 2023

Ms. Helen Juliet Atkins is an artist and arts administrator working and living in Albuquerque, New Mexico. She been so honored to serve on the Museum Board of Trustees because the Museum holds a special place in her heart.

Ms. Atkins comes from a working-class background, growing up in the southwest side of Albuquerque. She graduated from West Mesa High School and through experiences at the museum as a teenager with her art class, she found that she wanted to have a career in the arts.

Ms. Atkins is an afro-Latina and the daughter of an immigrant mother from Venezuela. As she studied at UNM and built her career in the arts, she longed for representation of women of color, especially from working class or low-income backgrounds. As Ms. Atkins can, she is proud to offer that representation to younger generations.

Ms. Helen Juliet Atkins resides in Council District 1 and will continue to serve as the City Council District 1

File #: OC-21-34, Version: 1

Representative.

Her term will expire July 31, 2023.

Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees Membership:

Seat	Term Ends	Current Member Council District
At-Large	7/31/2024	Dr. Sherri Burr 2
At-Large	7/31/2021	Mr. Wayne Chew 1
At-Large	7/31/2022	Ms. Beverly Bendicksen Non-City Resident
Council District 1	7/31/2020	Ms. Helen Atkins 1
Council District 2	7/31/2024	Mr. Paul M. Mondragon 2
Council District 3	7/31/2024	Mr. Augustine Chris Baca 3
Council District 4	7/31/2022	Dr. JanetSamorodin-McIlwain 4
Council District 5	7/31/2022	Mrs. Christine Glidden 5
Council District 6	7/31/2023	Ms. Pamela Weese 6
Council District 7	7/31/2024	Ms. Hilma E. Chynoweth 7
Council District 8	7/31/2022	Mr. Donald Couchman 8
Council District 9	7/31/2022	Mr. Alan Weitzel Non-City Resident
Foundation		
Representative	7/31/2024	Ms. Joni K. Pierce Cfa. 2