

City of Albuquerque

City of Albuquerque Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Legislation Text

File #: EC-21-333, Version: 1



INTER-OFFICE MEMORANDUM

April 7, 2021

TO: Cynthia D. Borrego, President, City Council

FROM: Timothy M. Keller, Mayor

SUBJECT: ..title

Mayor's appointment of Ms. Laura L. Harris to the Biological Park Board

I am submitting for your advice and consent the following name for appointment to the Biological Park Board in accordance with the City of Albuquerque Ordinance 10-2-2-1

APPOINTEE NAME TERM

File #: EC-21-333, Version: 1

Ms. Laura L. Harris March 1, 2024 292

Sandia Road NW Albuquerque, NM 87107 Laura Harris focuses her passion and energy to fight for the rights of Indigenous peoples. As Executive Director of Americans for Indian Opportunity, she leads an award-winning international Indigenous leadership training program. Harris is an enrolled citizen of the Comanche Nation and her Comanche values guide her community work. Harris understands the interconnectedness of ecosystems, that humans are related to all matter, and that we have a responsibility to care for relatives, especially our Mother Earth. Harris is a longtime resident of Albuquerque, graduating from Cibola High School and the University of New Mexico. In 2020, she was instrumental in mobilizing and coordinating COVID relief efforts for urban Native families in Albuquerque. Harris serves on the boards of the Sierra Club Rio Grande Chapter. Latin American Working Group, National Native American Hall of Fame, and is the current chair of the Native Leadership Collective of Albuquerque. She is elected secretary of the Toyah Band of Comanche and active huutsi (Comanche paternal grandmother) to Madelyn (age 5). Harris looks forward to contributing her values and Indigenous worldview and to building a strong future for Albuquerque's Biological Parks. A resident of the City Council District 2, Ms. Harris will serve as an at-large representative, replacing Dr. Christine Weidmann-Wilson, and her first term will expire March 1, 2024.

Current Membership

	Representing	Name	Term
1.	City Council District 1	Vacant	
2.	City Council District 2	Mr. Adam Silverman	03/01/2022
3.	City Council District 3	Vacant	03/01/2024
4.	City Council District 4	Ms. Alexis Mena	03/01/2024
5.	City Council District 5	Mrs. Christine Glidden	03/01/2020
6.	City Council District 6	Vacant	
7.	City Council District 7	Mr. Jeremiah Gwin	03/01/2023
8.	City Council District 8	Vacant	
9.	City Council District 9	Vacant	
10.	At-Large	Dr. Kristina Chongsirirwatana	03/01/2022
11.	At-Large	Dr. Karl Horak	03/01/2021
12.	At-Large	Dr. Christine J Weidmann-Wilson	03/01/2021
13.	BioPark Society Rep.	Dr. Bruce W. Hinrichs	03/01/2024

File #: EC-21-333, Version: 1			
Biological Park Board			
Appointment of Ms. Laura L. Harris			
		/	
Sarita Nair, Chief Administrative Officer	_	Date	
		Duit	