

City of Albuquerque

City of Albuquerque Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Legislation Text

File #: R-13-207, Version: 2

CITY of ALBUQUERQUE

TWENTIETH COUNCIL

COUNCIL BILL NO.	R-13-207	ENACTMENT NO.	
SPONSORED BY:	Brad Wint	er & Rey Garduño	

RESOLUTION

Establishing The Ad Hoc Police Oversight Task Force; Naming Members (Winter, Garduño) ESTABLISHING THE AD HOC POLICE OVERSIGHT TASK FORCE; NAMING MEMBERS.

WHEREAS, the Police Oversight ordinance requires periodic evaluations so as to "undertake a complete evaluation and analysis of the entire Police Oversight Process, and recommend any necessary changes or amendments that would appropriately improve the process." §9-4-1-11 ROA 1994; and

WHEREAS, the City Council believes that the creation of a Police Oversight Task Force is an appropriate first step in bringing expertise to bear on the review of the police oversight process; and

WHEREAS, the City Council recently passed F/S R-13-143 which creates an 11-person ad hoc Police Oversight Task Force with membership that should reflect the community and include 5 members of the community at large, a retired APD officer, and members with experience in investigation or prosecution, in non-profit/community groups, in civil liberties, in governmental efficiency; and

WHEREAS, the City recently solicited applications from community members who would be interested in and qualified to serve on the Task Force; and

WHEREAS, the City received 115 applications from individuals requesting to be selected as members of the Task Force; and

WHEREAS, staff has evaluated and recommended to the City Council the following 11 individuals to serve on the Task Force; and

WHEREAS, the City Council agrees that these individuals meet the qualifications outlined in F/S R-13-143 and should be appointed to the Task Force.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL, THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE:

Section 1. The following individuals are hereby appointed to the ad hoc Police Oversight Task Force created by F/S R-13-143:

Name

Mr. Hans Erickson

Mr. Ralph Arellanes

Ms. Nancy Koenigsberg

Mr. Peter Simonson

Mr. Edmund Perea

Ms. Frances Armijo

Mr. Andrew Lipman

Mr. Craig Loy

Mr. Alan Wagman

Ms. Julia Kennedy

Mr. Fabrizio Bertoletti

File #: R-13-207, Version: 2

X:\CITY COUNCIL\SHARE\CL-Staff\Twenty\R-207final.docx