

City of Albuquerque

City of Albuquerque Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: OC-23-30

Type:Other CommunicationStatus:ConfirmedFile created:3/6/2023In control:City Council

Final action: 3/20/2023

Enactment date: Enactment #:

Title: Re-appointment of Dr. Colin Barnett to the Biological Park Board

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. OC-30

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/20/2023	1	City Council	Confirmed	Pass
3/6/2023	1	City Council	Received	
3/6/2023	1	President	To be heard at the Council Meeting	

CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE

INTEROFFICE MEMORANDUM

TO: All City Councilors

FROM: Trudy Jones, City Councilor, District 8

SUBJECT: ..title

Re-appointment of Dr. Colin Barnett to the Biological Park Board

DATE: March 1, 2023

I am submitting the following name for re-appointment to the Albuquerque Biological Park Board.

APPOINTEE NAME TERM

Dr. Colin Barnett March 1st, 2026

Dr. Barnett has a PH.D. in Zoology from UC Berkeley and worked at the Illinois State University teaching ecology and ethology. He was awarded a fellowship to conduct research in Germany and a second Fellowship to conduct research

File #: OC-23-30, Version: 1

and the Southwest Fisheries Center. Later in his career, Dr. Barnett managed engineering staff in the development of robotic vehicles. Mr. Barnett will serve as the District 8 representative on the board and his second term will expire March 1, 2026.

The Albuquerque Biological Park Advisory Board was established for the following purposes:

- A. To support the development and operation of the Albuquerque Biological Park (ABQ BioPark), which includes four primary facilities, being, Tingley Beach, the ABQ BioPark Aquarium, the ABQ BioPark Botanic Garden, and the ABQ BioPark Zoo.
- B. To serve as a focal point for community input and discussion regarding the needs and development of the ABQ BioPark.
- C. To encourage usage and maintain ongoing community support activities of the facility.

Biological Park Board Membership

Seat	Term Ends	Current Member	Council District
At Large	3/1/2024	Dr. Karl Horak	2
At Large	3/1/2025	Dr. Kristina M.Chongsirirwata	na Non-City Resident
At Large	3/1/2024	Ms. Laura L. Harris	2
BioPark Society	1/1/0001	Dr. Bruce W. Hinrichs	7
Council District 1	3/1/2024	Mr. Jon Sanchez	1
Council District 2	3/1/2022	Mr. Adam Silverman	2
Council District 3	3/1/2024	Mrs. Jeanette E. Baca	3
Council District 4	3/1/2025	Ms. Rachel E. Hawkins	4
Council District 5	3/1/2024	Mrs. Angela Alderete	5
Council District 6	3/1/2023	Mrs. Christina B. Walker	6
Council District 7	3/1/2023	Mr. Jeremiah Gwin	7
Council District 8	3/1/2023	Dr. Colin Barnett	8
Council District 9	3/1/2024	Mr. Timothy R. McBride	9