

City of Albuquerque

Action Summary

Albuquerque/Bernalillo
County
Government Center
One Civic Plaza
Albuquerque, NM 87102

City Council

Council President, Isaac Benton, District 2 Council Vice-President, Dan Lewis, District 5

Louie Sanchez, District 1; Klarissa J. Peña, District 3 Brook Bassan, District 4; Pat Davis, District 6 Tammy Fiebelkorn, District 7; Trudy E. Jones, District 8 Renee Grout, District 9

Monday, January 10, 2022

3:00 PM

Via Zoom Video Conference

TWENTY-FIFTH COUNCIL - FIRST MEETING SPECIAL MEETING

A motion was made by Councilor Benton to nominate Councilor Jones as the ProTem to conduct this meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Davis, Fiebelkorn, Grout, Jones, Lewis, Peña, and Sanchez

1. ROLL CALL

Present 9 - Brook Bassan, Isaac Benton, Patrick Davis, Tammy Fiebelkorn, Renee Grout, Trudy Jones, Dan Lewis, Klarissa Peña, and Louie Sanchez

2. MOMENT OF SILENCE

Councilor Jones led the Pledge of Allegiance in English. Councilor Peña led the Pledge of Allegiance in Spanish.

- 3. PROCLAMATIONS & PRESENTATIONS
- 4. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISCUSSION
- 5. ADMINISTRATION QUESTION & ANSWER PERIOD
- 6. APPROVAL OF JOURNAL
- 7. COMMUNICATIONS AND INTRODUCTIONS

- 8. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES
- 9. CONSENT AGENDA: {Items may be removed at the request of any Councilor}
- 10. GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENTS
- 11. ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 12. PUBLIC HEARINGS: {Appeals, SAD Protest Hearings}
- 13. APPROVALS: {Contracts, Agreements, and Appointments}
- 14. FINAL ACTIONS
- 15. OTHER BUSINESS: {Reports, Presentations, and Other Items}
- a. Election of President and Vice-President

Councilor Jones opened the floor for nominations for Council President.

Councilor Davis nominated Councilor Benton.

Councilor Peña nominated Councilor Bassan.

Councilor Grout nominated Councilor Lewis.

The votes were as follows:

Councilor Benton:

Isaac Benton

Pat Davis

Tammy Fiebelkorn

Trudy Jones

Councilor Bassan:

Brook Bassan

Klarissa Peña

Councilor Lewis:

Renee Grout

Dan Lewis

Louie Sanchez

With no Councilor receiving 5 votes, a second round of voting was held and Councilor Benton was elected President by the following 6-3 vote:

Councilor Benton:

Isaac Benton

Pat Davis

Tammy Fiebelkorn

Trudy Jones

Brook Bassan

Klarissa Peña

Councilor Lewis:

Renee Grout

Dan Lewis

Louie Sanchez

Councilor Jones opened the floor for nominations for Council Vice-President.

Councilor Bassan nominated Councilor Lewis.

Councilor Benton nominated Councilor Fiebelkorn.

Councilor Lewis was elected Vice-President by the following 6-3 vote:

Councilor Lewis:

Brook Bassan

Renee Grout

Klarissa Peña

Trudy Jones

Dan Lewis

Louie Sanchez

Councilor Fielbelkorn:

Isaac Benton

Pat Davis

Tammy Fiebelkorn

b. Election of Chair of the Committee of the Whole

Councilor Jones opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the Committee of the Whole.

Councilor Peña nominated Councilor Bassan.

Councilor Bassan was elected Chair of the Committee of the Whole by unanimous vote.

c. Approval of Committee Appointments

A motion was made by Councilor Benton that the rules be suspended for the purpose of deferring the Approval of the Committee Appointments to the January 19, 2022 Council meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Davis, Fiebelkorn, Grout, Jones, Lewis, Peña, and Sanchez