

City of Albuquerque

Action Summary

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

City Council

Council President, Pat Davis, District 6 Vice-President, Diane G. Gibson, District 7

Lan Sena, District 1; Isaac Benton, District 2 Klarissa J. Peña, District 3; Brook Bassan, District 4 Cynthia D. Borrego, District 5; Trudy E. Jones, District 8 Don Harris, District 9

Monday, November 16, 2020	3:00 PM	Via Zoom Video Conference
---------------------------	---------	---------------------------

TWENTY-FOURTH COUNCIL - TWENTY-SECOND MEETING

1. ROLL CALL

Present 9 - Brook Bassan, Isaac Benton, Cynthia Borrego, Patrick Davis, Diane Gibson, Don Harris, Trudy Jones, Klarissa Peña, and Lan Sena

2. MOMENT OF SILENCE

Councilor Jones led the Pledge of Allegiance in English. Councilor Borrego led the Pledge of Allegiance in Spanish.

- 3. PROCLAMATIONS & PRESENTATIONS
- **10. GENERAL PUBLIC COMMENTS**
- 4. ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISCUSSION
- 5. ADMINISTRATION QUESTION & ANSWER PERIOD
- 6. APPROVAL OF JOURNAL

November 2, 2020

7. COMMUNICATIONS AND INTRODUCTIONS

8. **REPORTS OF COMMITTEES**

Finance and Government Operations Committee - November 9, 2020

9. CONSENT AGENDA: {Items may be removed at the request of any Councilor}

а.	<u>EC-20-185</u>	Report on Uses of 3/8 Hold Harmless Tax
		A motion was made by Vice-President Gibson that this matter be Receipt Be Noted. The motion carried by the following vote:
		For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena
b.	<u>EC-20-195</u>	Mayor's Appointment of Ms. Alexandria Bazan to the ABQ Volunteers Advisory Board
		A motion was made by Vice-President Gibson that this matter be Confirmed. The motion carried by the following vote:
		For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena
C.	<u>EC-20-196</u>	Mayor's Appointment of Ms. Madalena C. Salazar to the Urban Enhancement Trust Fund
		A motion was made by Vice-President Gibson that this matter be Confirmed. The motion carried by the following vote:
		For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena
d.	<u>EC-20-201</u>	Mayor's Appointment of Ms. Judy A. Pacheco to the Indicators Progress Commission
		A motion was made by Vice-President Gibson that this matter be Confirmed. The motion carried by the following vote:
		For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena
e.	<u>R-20-112</u>	Approving The Transit Department's 2020 Title VI Program For Submission To The Federal Transit Administration (Benton, by request)
		A motion was made by Vice-President Gibson that this matter be Passed. The motion carried by the following vote:
		For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena

11. ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 12. PUBLIC HEARINGS: {Appeals, SAD Protest Hearings}
- **13.** APPROVALS: {Contracts, Agreements, and Appointments}
- 14. FINAL ACTIONS
- a. <u>0-20-18</u> Imposing A Municipal Gasoline Tax Of Two Cents Per Gallon Conditional Upon Voter Approval; Dedicating The Revenue Generated By The

Municipal Gasoline Tax To Rehabilitate Public Streets And Roadway Systems For The Benefit Of The City (Benton)

A motion was made by Councilor Benton that this matter be Amended. Councilor Benton moved Amendment No. 1. The motion carried by the following vote:

For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena

A motion was made by Councilor Benton that this matter be Passed as Amended. The motion carried by the following vote:

For: 5 - Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, and Jones

Against: 4 - Bassan, Harris, Peña, and Sena

b. <u>R-20-111</u> Extending The Council's Appreciation For The Professionalism Of The City Of Albuquerque's Employees In Addressing The Complex Challenges They Encounter In Their Positions, Acknowledging The Efforts Of City Employees To Obtain And Maintain Their Professional Reputations, Appointing A Task Force To Identify Methods To Improve And Expand The Opportunities For City Employees To Obtain And Maintain Certifications And Degrees, And Requiring A Final Report To City Council (Borrego)

A motion was made by Councilor Borrego that this matter be Passed. The motion carried by the following vote:

For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena

*c. <u>R-20-109</u> Removing The Aggregate Maximum Limit Of Economic Relief Grants Provided To Small And Local For-Profit Organizations Negatively Impacted By The COVID-19 Pandemic Through The Coronavirus, Aid, Relief, And Economic Security Act (CARES Act) (Sena)

> A motion was made by Councilor Bassan that this matter be Amended. Councilor Bassan moved Amendment No. 1. The motion carried by the following vote:

- For: 5 Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Gibson, and Jones
- Against: 4 Davis, Harris, Peña, and Sena

A motion was made by Councilor Sena that this matter be Passed as Amended. The motion carried by the following vote:

For: 9 - Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Harris, Jones, Peña, and Sena

a. <u>O-20-18</u> Imposing A Municipal Gasoline Tax Of Two Cents Per Gallon Conditional Upon Voter Approval; Dedicating The Revenue Generated By The Municipal Gasoline Tax To Rehabilitate Public Streets And Roadway Systems For The Benefit Of The City (Benton)

> A motion was made by Councilor Borrego that this matter be Reconsidered. The motion carried by the following vote:

- For: 5 Bassan, Borrego, Harris, Peña, and Sena
- Against: 4 Benton, Davis, Gibson, and Jones

A motion was made by Councilor Benton that this matter be Postponed to February 17, 2020 . The motion carried by the following vote:

- For: 8 Bassan, Benton, Borrego, Davis, Gibson, Jones, Peña, and Sena
- Against: 1 Harris