## CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE

## INTEROFFICE MEMORANDUM

TO: All Councilors

FROM: Dan Lewis, Council District 5

SUBJECT: Appointment of Mr. Giovanni Coppola to the Environmental Planning

Commission

DATE: Wednesday, January 18th

CC: Mayor Tim Keller, Planning Director Alan Varela, Boards &

**Commissions Liaison Daniel Manzano** 

This OC will appoint Mr. Giovanni Coppola to the Environmental Planning Commission (EPC), with his first term expiring 01/01/2026.

Mr. Coppola is a small business owner who was born and raised in New Mexico. He has operated a distribution business that has been headquartered in Albuquerque since 2011. He has purchased commercial property around the City, one of which is where his distribution company is located. Mr. Coppola is dedicated to New Mexico and understands the benefits and challenges the City faces.

The EPC is a nine-member board who consider certain planning and zoning applications as required by the Integrated Development Ordinance. In some cases the EPC is the final decision-making body on certain requests, however, they also act in an advisory capacity to the City Council on certain matters. This board meets monthly. The IDO requires that EPC commissioners have experience in any of the following:

1. Community, urban, or natural resource planning.

- 2. Architecture.
- 3. Landscape architecture.
- 4. Urban design.

- 5. Real estate development.
- 6. Transportation.
- 7. Engineering.
- 8. Real estate and/or finance.

The remaining members are:

Representing	Name	Term
Council District 1	Mrs. Jana Lynne Pfeiffer	01/01/2024
Council District 2	Mr. Richard Meadows	01/01/2024
Council District 3	Mr. Joseph M. Cruz	01/01/2025

Council District 4	Mr. Robert G. Stetson	01/01/2024
Council District 5		01/01/2026
Council District 6	Mr. Gary L. Eyster	01/01/2025
Council District 7	Mr. David K. Shaffer	01/01/2024
Council District 8	Mr. Timothy J. MacEachen	01/01/2026
Council District 9	Mr. Jonathon Hollinger	01/01/2025